Community Safety Overview and Scrutiny Committee

8 February 2006

Agenda

The Community Safety Overview and Scrutiny Committee will meet at the SHIRE HALL, WARWICK on WEDNESDAY 8 FEBRUARY 2006 at 10:00 a.m.

(All Members of the Council are invited to attend this meeting.)

The agenda will be: -

1. General

- (1) Apologies for absence
- (2) Members' Declarations of Personal and Prejudicial Interests

Members should disclose the existence and nature of their personal interests at the commencement of the relevant item (or as soon as the interest becomes apparent). If that interest is a prejudicial interest the Member must withdraw from the room unless one of the exceptions applies.

Personal interests relating to any item on the agenda arising by virtue of the Member serving as a district/borough councillor are declared below:

<u>Stratford-on Avon District Council</u> – Councillors John Appleby, Anita Macaulay and Mike Perry.

<u>Warwick District Council</u> - Councillors Michael Doody, Bernard Kirton and Dave Shilton

Rugby Borough Council - Councillor Heather Timms

3. Anti-Social Behaviour in Warwickshire – Single Issue Meeting

Programme

- **10:00 10:15** Councillor John Haynes Welcome and Introductions.
- **10:15 10:45** John Hedge (Chair of Thames Valley Partnership) Key note speaker 'A balanced approach to Anti-Social Behaviour
 - **N. B.** Presentation followed by opportunity to question Key Note Speaker

Members Questions to the expert panel.+

- **10:45 11:25** Session 1 A balanced approach (prevention, support and enforcement) to ASB* Paul Littler (lead) County Anti-Social Behaviour Co-ordinator
- **11:25 11:40** Coffee
- **11:40 12:00** Session 2 Crime Statistics* Julie Sullivan (lead) Corporate Community Safety Manager
- **12:00 12:20** Session 3 Neighbourhood solutions* Mike Slater (lead) Chief Inspector Warwickshire Police
- **12:20 12:40** Session 4 A Partnership Approach* All Panel members
- **12:40 13:00** Summary and next steps Councillor John Haynes
- **13:00** Buffet Lunch
 - + Details of expert panel see overleaf
 - * See Key lines of Enquiry overleaf for detailed questions around this topic area

JIM GRAHAM
Chief Executive

Overview and Scrutiny Committee Membership

County Councillors:- John Appleton, David Booth, Michael Doody, John Haynes (Chair), Bernard Kirton, Bryan Levy, Barry Longden, Anita Macaulay, Mike Perry, Dave Shilton, Heather Timms and John Wells (Vice Chair).

Cabinet Portfolio Holder:- Councillor Richard Hobbs (Community Safety)

The reports referred to are available in large print if requested

General Enquiries: Please contact Jean Hardwick on 01926 412476

E-mail: jeanhardwick@warwickshire.gov.uk

Enquiries about specific reports: Please contact the officers named in the reports.